The Royal Dynasty of Magic succession goes as follows: Alexander Herrmann aka "Herrmann the Great" died in 1896 leaving the mantle to Harry Kellar. Kellar passed the mantle on to Howard Thurston in 1908 and designated it to go to Harry August Jansen aka "Dante the Magician." In 1955, Dante passed the mantle on to Lee Grabel. On May 12, 1994, Lee Grabel passed the mantle on to Lance Burton. The mantle represents the premier classicist magician in the world.

Harry Kellar
Harry Kellar 1849-1922

In order of succession, the Grand Masters of The Royal Dynasty of Magic are: Alexander Herrmann ("Hermann the Great") who was America's Premier Magician in the late 19th century and died in 1896 leaving the mantle to Harry Kellar. He held the honor from 1897 until his retirement in 1908.

Howard Thurston
Howard Thurston 1869-1936

Upon Kellar's retirement he passed the mantle to Howard Thurston. Thurston died in 1936, but had already pre-selected Harry August Jansen who was known internationally by his stage name "Dante" or "Dante the Magician."

Dante 1883-1955

"Dante" opened on Broadway in 1939 to rave reviews. He retired in the late 1940s. In 1954, "Dante" chose Lee Grabel as America's Premier Magician.

Lee Grabel
Lee Grabel 1919-present

Grabel retired in 1959, but waited until 1994 when he finally found a worthy magician, he could honor. He passed the mantle to Lance Burton on May 12, 1994.

Lance Burton
Lance Burton 1960-present

Lance Burton proudly carries on the tradition of the Royal Dynasty and will someday pass the mantle on to the next premier magician.